The simple life.


I know a place where blessings are struck every once in a while- and then they are poured.
I know a place where everyone one smiles every time it rains – not worry about offices being closed down of the traffic being unbearable.
I know a place where mothers gather up the clothes hanging from ropes in their backyard, grab their chairs, and sit beside the rain – sipping tea. Where sleeping children wake in excitement at the sound of thunder and rush naked into the dripping rain.
I know a place where the smell of water soaked in the soil mingles with the smell of fried curry ( where the air smells like anything but industrialization).
I know a place where fathers don’t have to worry about getting to work on time, or whether the driver will be late again today.
I know a place where there are things so much more important than getting a new purse or that blue pair of shoes you always wanted.
I know a place where grandmothers still tell you stories about how things in their time were – no matter how old you are.
I know a place where there is fire to cook – not electric ovens or fancy restaurants – and the food cooked in it is the most delicious of food you have tasted.
I know a place where the tv only plays two channels – the news channel, and the news channel.
I know a place where there is no cell phone service – but deep down you are still satisfied.
I know a place where you don’t have to worry about what clothes to wear or whether you have already made the same hairstyle this week.
I know a place where people don’t have more than three pairs of clothing – in total.
I know a place where honesty is not a requirement rather an acceptance of human nature.
I know a place where there are no cops, no police stations, no stone slabs with laws written and hung – where people don’t need hypocrites who make laws to tell them what to do.
I know a place where children still sit on mats in school and write on wooden boards with ink.
I know a place where children are the most knowledge-seeking children there are.
I know a place where love is free and time is given to the ones you love – not things you want to have.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sahil said,

    how many of these posts are written by you?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

